BOOK TOUR | Like Home by Louisa Onomé

Title : Like Home

Author : Louisa Onomé

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary

Publisher : Delacorte Press

Pub Date : February 23rd, 2021

Pages : 352

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Fans of Netflix’s On My Block, In the Heights, and readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Ibi Zoboi will love this debut novel about a girl whose life is turned upside down after one local act of vandalism throws her relationships and even her neighborhood into turmoil.

Chinelo, or Nelo as her best friend Kate calls her, is all about her neighborhood Ginger East. She loves its chill vibe, ride-or-die sense of community, and her memories of growing up there. Ginger East isn’t what it used to be, though. After a deadly incident at the local arcade, all her closest friends moved away, except for Kate. But as long as they have each other, Nelo’s good.

Only, Kate’s parents’ corner store is vandalized, leaving Nelo shaken to her core. The police and the media are quick to point fingers, and soon more of the outside world descends on Ginger East with promises to “fix” it. Suddenly, Nelo finds herself in the middle of a drama unfolding on a national scale.

Worse yet, Kate is acting strange. She’s pushing Nelo away at the exact moment they need each other most. Nelo’s entire world is morphing into something she hates, and she must figure out how to get things back on track or risk losing everything⁠—and everyone⁠—she loves.

Add it on Goodreads HERE & grab your copy of the book HERE!

. . .

This debut novel was one I was thrilled to have gotten to read. With realistic young adult voices that need to be heard, the realistic and complex relationships between the YA characters woven with the gentrification of Nelo’s neighborhood. 

The cast of characters were what made this book for me, refreshing & well-written in a way that made you feel as if you were in the moments with them. Stories about friendships always seem to hit the strongest for me, and I love how these friends stood for each other and their home while struggling with how change can be inevitable. 

Highly recommend for that tween/ YA reader who wants to feel seen, and to learn about teens who may have a different view or voice than their own. What’s not to love about a book with a lot of heart, and full of diversity? 

Is anyone else a total sucker for when a book has a coordinating playlist? Check out an unofficial Spotify playlist from the author to listen to while you read.

. . .

Thank you Turn the Page Tours for having me on this book tour, to see the rest of the stops head over to check out the rest of the tour schedule!

Want to WIN a copy?!

Up for grabs, we have TWO (2) finished copies of Like Home by Louisa Onomé! This giveaway will run from February 21st to February 28th at 11:59 PM CST and is open to US residents only. To enter, click the link below!

ENTER HERE!

. . .

About the Author:

Louisa Onomé is a writer of books for teens. She holds a BA in professional writing from York University and is represented by Claire Friedman at InkWell Management.

A part of the Author Mentor Match round 3 cohort, she is also a writing mentor and all-around cheerleader for diverse works and writers. When she is not writing, her hobbies include picking up languages she may never use, trying to bake bread, and perfecting her skincare routine. She currently resides in the Toronto area.

Crystal Maldonado is a young adult author with a lot of feelings. Her debut novel, FAT CHANCE, CHARLIE VEGA (Holiday House), will be released on Feb. 2, 2021.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s